Internet Society Frontpage

Events Membership
About the Internet Standards
Publications  Public Policy
About ISOC Education

About the Internet 

Become an ISOC Member

Internet Evolution


Kenjiro Cho

Kenjiro Cho is deputy research director at Internet Initiative Japan, Inc. He also serves as adjunct professor at Keio University and Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, and as a board member of the WIDE project. His current research interests include traffic measurement and management as well as operating-system support for networking.

Alissa Cooper

Alissa Cooper is the chief computer scientist at the Center for Democracy and Technology. Her work focuses on a range of issues including consumer privacy, network neutrality, and technical standards. She conducts research into the inner workings of common and emerging Internet technologies and she seeks to explain complex technical concepts in understandable terms. She has testified before the U.S. Congress and the U.S. Federal Trade Commission and she writes regularly on a variety of technology policy topics. She currently cochairs the Geographic Location/Privacy working group (Geopriv) within the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and is a member of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB).

Jon Crowcroft

Jon Crowcroft is the Marconi Professor of Networked Systems in the Computer Laboratory of the University of Cambridge. Prior to that he was professor of networked systems at UCL in the Computer Science Department. He has supervised more than 45 doctoral students and more than 150 master’s students.

Jon is a fellow of the ACM, the British Computer Society, the Institution of Electrical Engineers, the Royal Academy of Engineering, and the IEEE. He was a member of the Internet Architecture Board from 1996–2002 and he attended the first 50 IETF meetings. He served as the general chair for the ACM SIGCOMM from 1995-1999 and he is the 2009 recipient of the Sigcomm Award.

Geoff Huston

Geoff Huston is the chief scientist at the Asia Pacific Network Information Centre (APNIC) where he undertakes research on topics associated with Internet infrastructure, IP technologies, and address distribution policies.

Widely regarded as the preeminent researcher on IPv4 exhaustion, he is routinely referenced by international agencies and is frequently quoted by the ICT media.

Geoff has also presented at a number of global technical and government forums, including APEC, ICANN, IETF, ITU, and OECD.

Prior to APNIC, Geoff served as the chief Internet scientist at Telstra and as the technical manager of the Australian Academic and Research Network (AARNET). He was a leading figure in the development of Australia’s academic and commercial Internet services.

Bill St. Arnaud

Bill St. Arnaud is a Green IT consultant who works with clients on a variety of subjects, such as the next-generation Internet and practical solutions to reduce GHG emissions, such as through free broadband and electrical highways. Previously, Bill worked as director of network projects for CANARIE Inc., an industry–government consortium that promotes and develops information highway technologies in Canada.

At CANARIE, Bill was responsible for the coordination and implementation of Canada’s next-generation optical Internet initiative called CA*net 3. Previously he was president and founder of a network and software engineering firm called TSA ProForma Inc. TSA was a LAN/WAN software company that developed wide area network client/server systems for use primarily in the financial and information business fields in the Far East and the United States. Bill is a frequent guest speaker at numerous conferences on the topic of the Internet and optical networking and he is a regular contributor to several networking magazines. He is a graduate of Carleton University Ottawa School of Engineering.

Joe Touch

Joe Touch is the Postel Center Director at the University of Southern California’s (USC’s) Information Sciences Institute (ISI) and a Research Associate Professor in USC’s Computer Science and EE/Systems Departments. He joined ISI in 1992 and his current projects include satellite networking, virtual networks, optical Internets, and high-performance zero-configuration network security. His interests include Internet protocols, network architecture, high-speed and low-latency networks, network device design, and experimental network analysis. He has four U.S. patents and more than 80 conference and journal publications.

Joe is a member of Sigma Xi, a Distinguished Scientist of the ACM, and a Senior Member of the IEEE. He currently serves as chair of the IEEE TCCC and he is on the editorial board of IEEE Network and Elsevier’s Journal of Computer and Systems Sciences. He is ACM SIGCOMM’s conference coordinator emeritus, an active participant in the IETF, and a member of numerous conference steering and program committees.

Jonathan Zittrain

Jonathan Zittrain is professor of law at Harvard Law School and the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, cofounder of the Berkman Center for Internet and Society, and professor of computer science in the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. He is a member of the board of trustees of the Internet Society and he is on the board of advisors for Scientific American. Previously he was a professor of Internet governance and regulation at Oxford University.

His research interests include battles for control of digital property and content, cryptography, electronic privacy, the roles of intermediaries within Internet architecture, and the useful and unobtrusive deployment of technology in education.

He performed the first large-scale tests of Internet filtering in China and Saudi Arabia in 2002, and now, as part of the OpenNet Initiative, he has coedited a study of Internet filtering by national governments titled “Access Denied: The Practice and Policy of Global Internet Filtering,” and its sequel, “Access Controlled: The Shaping of Power, Rights, and Rule in Cyberspace.”

His book, The Future of the Internet—And How to Stop It, is available from Yale University Press and Penguin UK and under a Creative Commons license. Papers may be found at here.